Ask a question

- OR -
I have read & agree to privacy policy

What's the difference between bachelors and honours degrees? Is a bachelors degree recognised by employers?
Bachelor's degree comes from the latin term baccalaureate and is an undergraduate academic degree awarded by colleges and universities upon completion of a course of study lasting three to six years. The two most common bachelor's degrees are the Bachelor of Arts (BA) and the Bachelor of Science (BS or BSc).

An ordinary bachelor degree is awarded typically after 3 years, whereas an honours bachelor degree is usually awarded after 4 years study. They will also be at different levels on the NFQ (National Framework of Qualifications) with an ordinary bachelors degree at level 7 and the honours bachelor degree at level 8.

Regarding recognition a level 7 qualification is highly regarded and can lead to many employment opportunities and options for further study. However for some professions the level 8 honours degree will be required. A full list of higher education options available in Ireland can be viewed below..

  • NFQ Level 7 = Ordinary Bachelor Degree (3 years duration)

  • NFQ Level 8 = Honours Bachelor Degree (3-4 years duration)

  • NFQ Level 8 = Higher Diploma (1 year duration)

  • NFQ Level 9 = Postgraduate Diploma (1 year duration)

  • NFQ Level 9 = Masters Degree (1-2 years duration)

  • NFQ Level 10 = Doctoral Degree (approximately 4 years duration)

Did you find this information helpful? yes 37 no 10