About Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)

Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) was established  under the Qualifications and Quality Assurance (Education and Training) Act 2012. It has taken over the functions of the following 4 bodies:

  • Further Education and Training Awards Council (FETAC)
  • Higher Education and Training Awards Council (HETAC)
  • National Qualifications Authority of Ireland (NQAI)
  • Irish Universities Quality Board (IUQB)

QQI is responsible for the following functions;

  • The establishment of policies and criteria for the making of awards
  • The validation of programmes in further or higher education and training
  • The setting of standards of knowledge, skill or competence which must be acquired by learners, before an award may be made

Learners can also contact QQI directly to seek certification or recognition for their existing knowledge, skill or competence. It will be a matter for QQI to decide how this prior learning and prior experience can be assessed and they may look for help and advice from the providers of education and training in making this assessment.

View the brochure below outlining the functions and purposes of QQI (Quality and Qualifications Ireland) – an independent State agency responsible for promoting quality and accountability in education and training services in Ireland.

View more information on Quality & Qualifications Ireland