Blog » Education Info » Opening of the Atlantic Technological University

Opening of the Atlantic Technological University

    ATU - Atlantic Technological University

    The official opening has taken place for the new Atlantic Technological University (ATU).

    The establishment of Atlantic Technological University (or Ollscoil Teicneolaíochta an Atlantaigh) follows the:

    • submission of an application by Galway-Mayo, Sligo and Letterkenny institutes of technology in May 2021
    • assessment by an international advisory panel of the application
    • designation by the minister of the new TU, following the panel’s report

    Students of the 3 predecessor institutes who graduate in this academic year of 2021/2022 will do so with university qualifications.

    The new name was chosen by the applicant institutes of technology, and follows a survey of staff, students and industry. The multi-campus technological university will involve thousands of students spread across locations in Castlebar, Galway city, Killybegs, Letterfrack, Letterkenny, Mountbellew and Sligo.

    The first president is Dr Orla Flynn, current president of Galway-Mayo IT. Minister Harris has designated Dr Flynn, but she will be formally appointed by the first governing body of the new TU upon its establishment.

    In February, Minister Harris appointed the following people to the first governing body of the new TU:

    • Ms Maura McNally, Chair of the Bar Council of Ireland, as the chair of the first governing body
    • Ms Oonagh Monaghan, founder and Managing Director of Alpha Omega Consultants Ltd, as an external member
    • Mr Felim McNeela, founder of Avenue Mould Solutions, as an external member
    • Ms Anne McHugh, Chief Executive of Donegal ETB, who is the agreed nominee of all 3 education and training boards covering the areas where the TU multi-campuses are located

    This first governing body has 6 months from the date of establishment to fill the entirety of the governing body of between 14 and 22 members through legislatively-prescribed election and appointment procedures.

    The new TU will span the West and North West region via 8 campuses initially offering almost 600 academic programmes for over 20,200 students, supported by 2,215 staff.

    The new TU has 8 campuses in:

    • Sligo (IT Sligo)
    • Galway City (GMIT x 2)
    • Castlebar (GMIT)
    • Letterfrack (GMIT)
    • Mountbellew (GMIT)
    • Letterkenny (LYIT)
    • Killybegs (LYIT)

    Providing higher educational programmes across all levels of the National Framework of Qualifications from apprenticeships to doctoral level qualifications, the new TU will play a pivotal role in the strategic development of the West and North West and in so doing, would ensure a global outlook and a civic centric value system.

    The new TU aims to ensure growth in education provision and enhanced research opportunities, as well as dynamic community and industry engagement across the region. Through its support for industry and communities, the new TU would make its region more attractive for indigenous small and medium enterprises and foreign direct investment (FDI) investment by linking to opportunities in knowledge creation and innovation. This in turn would contribute to the development of viable and vibrant communities that can offer an economically and socially-desirable regional counterbalance to the development of Dublin.

    The new TU in the West and North West presents an opportunity to enhance, accelerate and amplify the ambition to contribute to the sustainable development of the region it serves reflected through teaching and learning excellence, research, development, innovation and engagement activities including in a cross-border collaborative context.

    Article source and further details at